• Home
  • /
  • Blog
  • /
  • What Classifies as a Narcotic?

According to the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA), a narcotic is any drug that includes opium, cocaine, poppy straw, coca leaves, or ecgonine. These highly addictive substances can include prescription pain relievers such as Morphine, Oxycodone, Hydrocodone, Fentanyl, and Tramadol. Many times, those who abuse prescription drugs begin using heroin, as well, which can have a variety of serious consequences, including overdose deaths.

Scheduled Drugs

The United States recognizes five narcotics classifications, also known as “schedules.” Schedule I drugs have no medical use and are highly addictive, Schedule II drugs have a high potential for addiction, Schedule III drugs offer a low-to-moderate potential for physical dependence, Schedule IV drugs have a lower potential for addiction, and Schedule V narcotics have a lower potential for addiction than Schedule IV drugs.

Risks Using Drugs

Using narcotics can come with a variety of risks, including dependence and addiction. Narcotics that are commonly abused include heroin, as well as a variety of opioids including Fentanyl and Tramadol.

If a loved one or you are struggling with an addiction to narcotics, getting the right help is essential. We understand the importance of providing quality treatment and can help you get the care you deserve. Continue reading to learn more about the effects of narcotics.

Related Posts

Xanax Abuse is On the Rise
How to Host an Intervention
Heroin Addiction: What to Watch For
Addiction Guide for College Students
Why is Alcohol Considered the Deadliest Drug, and What is Alcoholism?
Isolation And Addiction

Get Started

Contact us

"*" indicates required fields


Or find us here

  • 2200 Main Street, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, 29926
  • 866.470.2187